Expectations.

Writing is scary. Right? And it’s scary to send your stories off and face possible rejection. But you know what else is scary?

This completely blindsided me, but… Having people who enjoyed your work is scary as hell. Because you’re sending them something new – the zombie story I’m currently working on for Open Casket Press, for example – and they already have a certain level they expect you to reach, because they enjoyed your previous work.

Now, I’m not sure there’s anything sillier to be afraid of, but there you go. I’d assumed the scariest thing would be trying to get a foot in the door, but it turns out that already having a foot in the door is way worse than trying to get it there. Or at least, that’s how I’m feeling right now (just wait till I’m trying to get my foot in the door somewhere again, I’ll go back to thinking that‘s way worse).

But being scared is no reason to stop. You kind of have to learn to ignore that little voice telling you you can’t do things… And push on regardless.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

