Happy birthday to me!

I’m 30 today. Actually, I’m still 29, by the skin of my teeth, as I write this. But when you read it, I’ll be 30.

A lot of people I know like to make a list of goals for their new age; I won’t. I made New Year’s resolutions not a month ago, so obviously those will still suit. But I do have some wishes.

I’ve had an interesting life, and I don’t always mean that in the positive way. There have been some dark days in the past (as there are in every life, when you come far enough) and there are undoubtedly dark days ahead (as, again, we all must expect and accept).

Over the past year, I’ve taken a lot of steps toward expanding my creative career, and I’ve enjoyed every single second of it (even the ones I hated). I’ve developed myself as a writer and I’ve grown into a routine that allows me to write what I want to. I’ve achieved some amazing things and worked with some fantastic people.

My life, as a writer, is so much fuller and more enjoyable. It’s become a huge part of my life; a change that’s perhaps best illustrated by the fact that today, I can comfortably call myself a writer. Only a year and a half ago, that simply wasn’t true.

So my wishes, in terms of my writing (because that is, after all, why you’re here), are for success. Not just for me, but also for the amazing writers I’ve discovered this year, who have become not only role models but also cherished friends.

Go to Amazon, and look for an author you haven’t heard of before. Take a gamble. Buy a book you don’t know about yet. Of course not every book is a nugget of gold, but you’ll get lucky more often than you might believe.

And I’m always willing to point you in the right direction… Just to get you started.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy birthday to me!

  1. Pete Denton says:

    Happy Birthday!

    I actually did just that. Someone I follow on twitter and blogging has a book out. I clicked the link through to Amazon and decided to download it to my kindle. I’m looking forward to reading it.

    • Elise says:

      Thank you!

      And that’s awesome 🙂 I recently started reading a book by a fellow author who is also my Facebook friend. I hadn’t read his work before at all… And ended up sleeping with one eye open – it was masterfully written and scared me witless!

Leave a Reply

